Stormzone release their new album in April

New album ‘Death Dealer’ out on April 26th, 2010.

Formed in 2005 in Belfast by vocalist Harv (John Harbinson), Irish band Stormzone recorded their debut album soon after and secured a deal with UK Rock label Escape Music who released ‘Caught In The Act’ in 2007. (Also released by Avalon/Marquee in Japan in the same year). The album was a
superb hard rock record was also essentially a ‘studio’ band album with Harv and friends playing all instruments. The cover artwork for ‘Caught in the act’ was painted by famous fantasy artist Rodney Matthews. Rodney has also contributed the artwork for the new Stormzone album ‘Death Dealer’.

It was not until later in 2007 that the full Stormzone line-up was
formed, essentially to tour in promotion of the debut album with all the musicians being from Belfast. Most had previously played in local bands except drummer Davy Bates. He was the sticks-man for legendary Belfast band ‘Sweet Savage’ (immortalized when Metallica covered their ‘Killing Time’ opus as the ‘B side of ‘The Unforgiven’).

For two years Stormzone were on the road playing in Europe including support slots with Y&T, White Lion, Tesla, George Lynch, and LA Guns. They also achieved Festival dates such as Firefest (UK), Sweden Rock, Lorca Festival (Spain), Zrock (UK) and Raismesfest (France) before re-entering the studio in the summer of 2009 to record their second album.

Stormzone attracted many friends with the debut album including admiration from legendary producer/DJ Neal Kay who saw in the band the same early signs of stardom shown by another group he discovered, Iron Maiden! With the band playing live constantly they inevitably hardened up their sound so the new recordings came out much more aggressive than the first album but still kept the quality, melody and harmony of before. Co-produced by Neal Kay the new album was finished towards the end of 2009.

The recordings were sent by Davy Bates to Jess Cox the M.D. of Metal Nation Ltd. (Jess is the original Tygers Of Pan Tang vocalist and previous owner of Neat Records who also recorded the ‘Killing Time’ Sweet Savage album ten years earlier). He was so impressed he offered to manage the band immediately and shortly afterwards licensed the new album to SPV/Steamhammer in Germany.

The new album “Death Dealer” will be released in Europe on April 26th, 2010 (in Germany April 23rd, 2010).

Track listing :
Death Dealer
Secret Gateway
The Memory Never Dies
The Legend Carries On
Wasted Lives
Stand Up And Fight
The Chosen One
World Of Sorrow
The Greatest Sacrifice
Final Journey

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: