The music is out there…

I love discovering and listening to new music, be it actual new music or older music that I listen to for the first time. I know many music fans my age or older get very set in their tastes and say nothing new is as good as the older, established bands, however that misses the point a little for me. Yes bands like say the Temperance Movement or Inglorious, to name but two, are nothing new musically yet they take the music they love and give it their own twist. Heck, bands like Led Zeppelin and Deep Purple borrowed and were influenced by established artists in their day to create the music that still resonates today.

Just this week I picked up a Richard Hawley CD after reading a rave gig review on GRTR! On Twitter I have been picking up on new music and currently loving Broken Witt Rebels (their new EP is superb!) and the indie rock of Mountain Jam. The joy and thrill of hearing new music and championing the musicians is one of life’s great joys for me and many others.

Go on, listen to at least one new band/musician this week, be they new or old…

Leave a Reply

