Glandular fever #3

Interesting older feature on singer Ali Campbell of UB40 fame who had GF and said he felt like a ninety year old –

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-1357622/UB40-frontman-Ali-Campbell-road-glandular-fever.html

I can relate to that as now on the anniversary of fifteen weeks with GF I can now get out and about at a pace slightly above ‘stop’! From the outside people may not see much unless they see you day to day and can spot when you enter your exhausted state. I am currently easing back into work doing a 5-6 hour day WFH. I make sure I have regular breaks and have a wander at midday.

I am seeing how my body copes with the extra push each day, so far had one really bad evening this week when it came back and I felt like collapsing in a heap. I do get warning signs as my tongue gets irritated, including little ulcers on it,  my left hand side throat glands show red and I you feel generally unwell.Seems silly to be chuffed at walking for ten minutes without ill affects when back in September I was happily ding 5k Park Run’s with no after affects.

I have been very lucky having such a supportive partner who has encouraged me to keep pushing on walking and exercise once I have reached a comfortable plateau. Also keeping an eye on what I am eating as I lost nearly a stone and was concerned I wasn’t putting much weight back on back in November time. Some of it is back now, although not as heavy as I did weigh and I am not complaining about that 🙂

For those with GF and seeing no improvement in sight, do keep a positive look, which believe you me is difficult, and try to alleviate stress as much as possible. One thing GF thrives on is stress. I have been using the Paul McKenna book and download calming session. I was a tad cynical of these previously but it seems to work and may be worth a go for some.

Leave a Reply

