Glandular fever #6

Week 24 in the Glandular Fever (GF) House! Well if my poor sense of humour is coming back then I must be getting back to some sort of normality 🙂

In the past few weeks have had a few relapses where I have felt really ill with GF, however as I now know what is coming I know how to deal with it a bit better. It is about pushing yourself but within limits as it can make you more ill. Good advice here on the Patient forum. Knowing that fine balance takes some time and although I am still fatigued/exhausted at the end of each day I take heart in the fact I have done a little more or achieved a goal I set e.g. going to my first gig last weekend since last summer.

Having good support from loved ones, family and friends is a big boost as well. GF is a very strange illness in that medicines can’t help it, just a good balance of vitamins, healthy food (with the odd cake 🙂 ) and rest helps. Unfortunately some people with GF can develop chronic fatigue syndrome/ME (NHS Direct puts it as high as 1 in 10) and that requires a whole different series of medical and practical steps. My then girlfriend, now wife, helped me push through the barrier if you like to prevent this happening to me which was a real possibility back in November last year. Take control of GF and not let it control you, not easy believe you me but doable.

I am keeping positive, trying to keep the stress low (stress is one of the biggest triggers in GF and it reoccurring ) and enjoying/appreciating everyday things in life more.

 

Leave a Reply

