All About Books

BOOK REVIEWS

Latest reviews

Bitter Wash Road by Garry Disher “after finishing this one I am adding Garry Disher to my ‘must read’ authors list.”

Liar Liar by Mel Sherratt “One of crime writing’s rising stars and ‘Liar Liar’ comes highly recommended”

The Guest List by Lucy Foley

Bird Therapy by Joe Harkness “His enthusiasm and passion for birds and the countryside in general really comes through loud and clear in his writing”

Hitler’s Secret by Rory Clements “Clements has penned a proper page turner”

Get Ready To ROCK! music book reviews includes –

Steve Rothery (Marillion)The Moody BluesElton John

All book reviews & news items can be accessed here – includes Ian Rankin, John Harvey, Claire Askew, Howard Linskey, BA Paris, Stewart Binns, Christopher Fowler, Stuart MacBride, Adrian McKinty, Kate London and many more

Older 2019 reviews (A-Z by author)

Their Little Secret by Mark Billingham “One of his best books to date, a classic page turner”

The Killer In The Choir by Simon Brett “An entertaining series and one that when you finish the book has you looking forward to what lies in wait next for Carole and Jude”

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is coab.png

Confessions of a Bookseller by Shaun Bythell “Another winner and sure to be as successful as the first volume. Perhaps a film adaptation beckons?”

Then She Vanishes by Claire Douglas “If you enjoyed TV dramas such as Broadchurch I would heartily recommend this book as each of the main characters have a skeleton or two in their closets and these impact on the story as the book progresses”

Half A World Away by Mike Gayle “Mike Gayle is in an author who can have you chuckling away one minute, then feeling a tear or two in your eyes”

Joe Country by Mick Herron “Joe Country proves that Mick Herron is top of the spy thriller tree”

Mistletoe by Alison Littlewood “Ghost stories are an oft maligned genre, however with ‘Mistletoe’ Alison Littlewood has written a classic ghostly tale, perfect for a winter’s night read”

Where’s My Guitar? by Bernie Marsden “a ‘must read’ for fans of Whitesnake and Bernie Marsden’s playing & music”

Ice Cold Heart by PJ Tracy “Another highly readable novel in the series and as soon as you finish reading it you are eager to read another instalment in the Monkeewrench series”

BOOK NEWS

Christopher Fowler has announced the publication date of the next Bryant & May book. It is called ‘Oranges & Lemons’ and is published on 23 July. ‘The Lonely Hour’ is out in paperback on 19 March and the short stories collection ‘England’s Glory’ is out in paperback on 15 October. Happy days!

You can read Ian Rankin’s 2019 round-up of books, music & film. Always worth a look.

There is a new Roy Grace novel from Peter James due on May 20 entitled ‘Find Them Dead’. There is a TV series due based on the series of books with John Simm taking the lead role.

Mel Sherratt has signed a two book deal with Avon Books with ‘Liar Liar’ out now on eBook now, with the paperback published on March 16 (see review above). A further book in the Grace Allendale series due in the autumn.

Robert Harris publishes his new book ‘V2’ on September 17.

Judas Priest vocalist Rob Halford publishes his memoir Confess on October 1. Looking forward to this one!

Image result for good reads

My Good Reads page