Archive for the Authors Category

Book review: Then She Vanishes by Claire Douglas

Posted in Authors, Books, crime writers with tags , , , , , , on May 13, 2019 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

Michael Joseph [Publication date 27.06.19]

The blurb…

Everything changed the night Flora disappeared.

Heather and Jess were best friends – until the night Heather’s sister vanished.

Jess has never forgiven herself for the lie she told that night. Nor has Heather.

But now Heather is accused of an awful crime.

And Jess is forced to return to the sleepy seaside town where they grew up, to ask the question she’s avoided for so long:

What really happened the night Flora disappeared?

This is the second book by Claire Douglas that I have read and she is now on my ‘must read’ authors list. The story is told from various characters’ viewpoints and the story also switches from present day to the past, however it is not too difficult for the reader to keep up with it all!

I particularly like the reporter Jess’s character as she faces some tough choices when reporting on the case as she is personally and emotionally involved.

If you enjoyed TV dramas such as ‘Broadchurch’ I would heartily recommend this book as each of the main characters have a skeleton or two in their closets and these impact on the story as the book progresses.

Highly recommended.

Book review – Cold As The Grave by James Oswald

Posted in Authors, Books with tags , , , , , on April 16, 2019 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

The ninth book in the Inspector McLean series and you don’t have to read them in order, although like any long running crime series the author will refer back to events in the past covered in previous books.

The opening sees the discovery of a mummified body hidden in the dark corner of a basement room, a room which seems to have been left untouched for decades. The plot unfolds from here to include a mysterious circus, human trafficking, a 60’s rock star and a djinn.

James Oswald is similar to John Connolly in that both add in supernatural elements to their books and they work well, also like Stephen King’s excellent Mercedes man trilogy.

Although used a lot in book reviews, ‘Cold As The Grave’ is a proper page turner as you want to keep on reading to see what happens next, such are the twists and turns in the plot. Highly recommended and James Oswald joins my select list of ‘must read’ crime writers.

Book review – A Beautiful Corpse by Christi Daugherty

Posted in Authors, Books with tags , , , , , , , , on March 26, 2019 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake
Harper Collins [Pub Date 04 Mar 2019]

It’s a thin line between love and murder…

A tense new thriller, perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Cara Hunter and Lisa Jewell

A murder that shocks a city… 
Shots ring out on one of Savannah’s most famous streets. A beautiful law student lies dead.
  
A case full of secrets and lies…
Three men close to the victim are questioned. All of them claim to love her. All of them say they are innocent of her murder.
 
An investigation that could prove deadly…
As crime reporter Harper McClain unravels a tangled story of obsession and jealousy, the killer focuses on her. He’s already killed one woman. Will he kill another?

Second book featuring crime reporter Harper McClain, this time she is investigating the murder of a law student and the events that unfold afterwards, including plenty of references to the first novel.

Different view as it is not a standard police procedural novel, instead it focues on a murder from the press viewpoint and Harper McClain soon becomes entangled in the case in a dangerous way. Fast paced, with minimal description, Christi Daugherty has written an enjoyable thriller. Good enough to have the reader looking forward to the next McClain novel.

Book review – The Quaker by Liam McIlvanney

Posted in Authors, Books, crime writers, Netgalley with tags , , , , , on February 17, 2019 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake
Harper Collins [Publication date 28.06.18]

It is easy to see why ‘The Quaker’ has won such high praise and the Scottish Crime Book of the Year award, as this is a proper page turner and one with plenty of twists & turns in the plot.

Set in 1969 and Glasgow has been brought to its knees by a serial killer spreading fear throughout the city – the Quaker. DI McCormack is called in to report on the murder investigations and whether the case should be kept open after no success in tracking down the killer.

Set in 1969 and Glasgow has been brought to its knees by a serial killer spreading fear throughout the city – the Quaker. DI McCormack is called in to report on the murder investigations and whether the case should be kept open after no success in tracking down the killer.

McIlvanney vividly creates the atmosphere of the late 60’s in Glasgow, where gangsters and corrupt coppers murky the investigation into finding the Quaker, DI McCormack himself hides a secret that could jeopardise the investigation as it reaches its climax.

Never too graphic, but with plenty of menace coming through from the villainous characters involved.

One of the best crime novels I have read in a long time, Liam McIlvanney should be on your ‘must read’ list if not already on there.

Book news – Michael Palin Announces Summer Live Tour Celebrating Erebus: The Story Of A Ship Paperback

Posted in Authors, Books, News with tags , , , , , on January 23, 2019 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

To celebrate the paperback publication of Erebus: The Story of A Ship, he will take a one-man show to 12 UK venues. Tickets go on sale at 9am on January 25

Each show will be split into two parts. The first half will see Palin bring to life the story of HMS Erebus, the subject of his latest book. During the second he’ll tell his life story, including his time with Monty Python, as well as his work on Ripping Yarns and the television travel series that have taken him around the world.

Erebus: The Story of A Ship will be published by Arrow on May 30, with signed copies available to purchase at the shows.

Fri June 07 2019 – BOURNEMOUTH Pavilion
Sat June 08 2019 – BASINGSTOKE Anvil
Sun June 09 2019 – CAMBRIDGE Corn Exchange
Thu June 20 2019 – CHESTERFIELD Winding Wheel
Fri June 21 2019 – MILTON KEYNES Theatre MK
Sat June 22 2019 – LONDON Cadogan Hall
Thu June 27 2019 – BRADFORD Alhambra Theatre
Fri June 28 2019 – MANCHESTER Lowry
Thu July 04 2019 – SALISBURY City Hall
Fri July 05 2019 – READING Hexagon Theatre
Sat July 06 2019 – PORTSMOUTH Kings Theatre
Sun July 07 2019 – BATH Theatre Royal

Book review – Jog On by Bella Mackie

Posted in Authors, Books, Netgalley with tags , , , , , , on January 21, 2019 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

Publication date 27.12.18

The book is part memoir, as Bella Mackie opens up honestly about her anxiety and personal troubles, and part motivational book as you certainly want to go running after reading it. She has an easy writing style, drawing upon published works and studies on depression & anxiety, along with interviews she has conducted with people with anxiety and depression.

A book that is recommended not only for those with anxiety and related issues, but those with a general interest in metal health and the benefits of running. The book does contain useful tips on starting out on your jogging/running journey, although don’t go expecting this to be a beginner’s guide to running as it is much more than this.

Book review – Gallowstree Lane by Kate London

Posted in Authors, Books, crime writers, Netgalley with tags , , , , , , on December 29, 2018 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

Publication date 07.02.19 Corvus

A new author to me, Kate London has written a hard hitting police procedural novel based around the London gang culture.

She has a descriptive style, with a good eye for details on police procedure. The book switches between the thoughts of the main characters, ramping the tension up as the book progresses.

Perfect read for those who enjoyed Prime Suspect and I could see Gallowstree Lane being made into a TV series in the not too distant future. Impressive and Kate London joins my list of must read crime writers.