Archive for Inside Out

Lonely Robot ‘The Boy In The Radio’ :-)

Posted in Music for 2015, Pop rock, Progressive rock with tags , , , , , , on October 7, 2015 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

Proof that prog music can be played on Radio 2, well if they listened to this it would be 😉

Features Go West’s Peter Cox in a cameo and of course he sings on this song.

Lonely Robot play London’s Scala on December 20th.

John Mitchell (It Bites/Arena), the man behind Lonely Robot, has confirmed a second album is in the works. The debut album ‘Please Come Home’ was released earlier this year on Inside Out and is one of my top 10 albums of the year.

Lonely Robot signs to InsideOutMusic; announces debut album Please Come Home

Posted in Music for 2015, Progressive rock with tags , , , , , , , , on December 4, 2014 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

Lonely Robot

This looks like a ‘must have’ for 2015, especially as John Mitchell is the mastermind behind it. Let’s hope we get the fabled second Kino album too sometime next year…

Lonely Robot, the new project masterminded by producer, guitarist and vocalist John Mitchell (It Bites, Frost*, Arena), has signed to InsideOut Music and is set to release its debut album Please Come Home on 23rd February 2015. See below for the album artwork.

Backed by the storming rhythm section of Nick Beggs on bass and Craig Blundell on drums, the album also sees guest appearances from Peter Cox (Go West), Nik Kershaw, Steve Hogarth (Marillion), Heather Findlay, Kim Seviour (Touchstone), Jem Godfrey (Frost*) as well as narration provided by British actor Lee Ingleby (Master & Commander, Harry Potter).

John Mitchell had this to say about the project: “I’d long thought about doing an album where I could have total control from start to finish with the music, lyrics, production, and choosing who I wanted to contribute – expanding from the idea of just a solo album. Musically, this album is very proggy, but more about atmosphere than technical expertise, inspired by my love of science fiction and interest in the evolution of the human race.”

The track-listing for the album is as follows:

1.       Airlock

2.       God Vs. Man

3.       The Boy In The Radio

4.       Why Do We Stay?

5.       Lonely Robot

6.       A Godless Sea

7.       Oubliette

8.       Construct/Obstruct

9.       Are We Copies?

10.   Humans Being

11.   The Red Balloon

Look out for more info in the coming weeks!


Music for 2014 – Sound Of Contact

Posted in Melodic rock, Progressive rock with tags , , , , , , , on January 14, 2014 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

Sound Of Contact’s debut album ‘Dimensionaut’ was released last year on Inside Out and rightly earned rave reviews plus made GRTR! Year End Poll

They are excellent live having seen them support Spock’s Beard last year in London.

The band features Simon Collins (vocals/drums) – son of Phil! – Matt Dorsey (guitars/bass/backing vocals), Dave Kerzner (keyboards/backing vocals,/sound design) and Kelly Nordstrom (guitars/bass).

Sound of Contact will be appearing live this April, firstly on The Moody Blues Cruise (2nd-7th) and following immediately after on Cruise To The Edge (7th-12th). The band are also scheduled to perform at ROSfest in the US on the 3rd May 2014.