Archive for Lonely Robot

Albums of the Year: LONELY ROBOT

Posted in Albums of the Year, Music for 2015, Pop rock, Progressive rock with tags , , , , , , , , on November 13, 2015 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

Lonely Robot released their excellent debut album ‘Please Come Home’ back in February on Inside Out. Lonely Robot is the brainchild of producer, guitarist and vocalist John Mitchell (Kino/It Bites/Frost*/Arena). He is backed by a rhythm section of Nick Beggs (Steve Hackett/Kajagoogoo) on bass and Craig Blundell on drums, with plenty of guests including Marillion’s Steve Hogarth, Nik Kershaw, Go West’s Peter Cox and Jem Godfrey (Frost*).

It is a cracking mix of melodic prog rock and some cracking pop rock like ‘Boy In The Radio‘ which features Peter Cox of Go West fame (always liked Go West, one of the better 80’s pop acts along with Talk, Talk and Tears For Fears).

Lonely Robot ‘The Boy In The Radio’ :-)

Posted in Music for 2015, Pop rock, Progressive rock with tags , , , , , , on October 7, 2015 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

Proof that prog music can be played on Radio 2, well if they listened to this it would be 😉

Features Go West’s Peter Cox in a cameo and of course he sings on this song.

Lonely Robot play London’s Scala on December 20th.

John Mitchell (It Bites/Arena), the man behind Lonely Robot, has confirmed a second album is in the works. The debut album ‘Please Come Home’ was released earlier this year on Inside Out and is one of my top 10 albums of the year.

Lots of great new music and it’s only February!

Posted in AOR, Melodic rock, Music for 2015, Progressive rock with tags , , , , , , , , on February 19, 2015 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

Blackberry Smoke have their new album ‘Holding All The Roses’ out now and it is great! Mix of rock ‘n’ roll, southern rock and country rock.

If you like melodic rock then Revolution Saints is one for you! It features Deen Castronova (Journey), Jack Blades (Night Ranger) and Doug Aldrich (ex-Whitesnake).

Prog wise Lonely Robot aka John Mitchell (It Bites/Arena/Frost*) is a fantastic album full of big soundscapes and very catchy songs. For those 80’s buffs you have members of Go West and Nik Kershaw guesting.

The Neal Morse Band’s ‘The Great Experiment’ is another cracking set of highly melodic prog rock tunes. Neal Morse is a musical wonder!

For a bit of classy metal the Level 10 album is good fun. It features vocalist Russell Allen and Matt Sinner (Primal Fear).

Orden Ogan have a real beast of a power metal album with ‘Ravenhead’. This band deserve bigger success as they always come up with the musical goods.

The upcoming Toto and FM albums are rather good to, the FM one is quite possibly their best album ever!

Lonely Robot signs to InsideOutMusic; announces debut album Please Come Home

Posted in Music for 2015, Progressive rock with tags , , , , , , , , on December 4, 2014 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

Lonely Robot

This looks like a ‘must have’ for 2015, especially as John Mitchell is the mastermind behind it. Let’s hope we get the fabled second Kino album too sometime next year…

Lonely Robot, the new project masterminded by producer, guitarist and vocalist John Mitchell (It Bites, Frost*, Arena), has signed to InsideOut Music and is set to release its debut album Please Come Home on 23rd February 2015. See below for the album artwork.

Backed by the storming rhythm section of Nick Beggs on bass and Craig Blundell on drums, the album also sees guest appearances from Peter Cox (Go West), Nik Kershaw, Steve Hogarth (Marillion), Heather Findlay, Kim Seviour (Touchstone), Jem Godfrey (Frost*) as well as narration provided by British actor Lee Ingleby (Master & Commander, Harry Potter).

John Mitchell had this to say about the project: “I’d long thought about doing an album where I could have total control from start to finish with the music, lyrics, production, and choosing who I wanted to contribute – expanding from the idea of just a solo album. Musically, this album is very proggy, but more about atmosphere than technical expertise, inspired by my love of science fiction and interest in the evolution of the human race.”

The track-listing for the album is as follows:

1.       Airlock

2.       God Vs. Man

3.       The Boy In The Radio

4.       Why Do We Stay?

5.       Lonely Robot

6.       A Godless Sea

7.       Oubliette

8.       Construct/Obstruct

9.       Are We Copies?

10.   Humans Being

11.   The Red Balloon

Look out for more info in the coming weeks!