Stoke’s 25 man squad as it stands now plus Pugh to Blackpool!

Posted in Football, football transfers, Stoke City FC, The Premiership with tags , , , , , , , on July 28, 2016 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

The current 25 man squad as it stands is as follows:

GK: Butland, Haugaard, Given

D: Johnson, Bardsley, Shawcross, Wollscheid, Cameron, Wilson, Muniesa, Pieters, Teixiera

M: Allen, Whelan, Imbula, Adam, Afellay (injured Jan 17), Ireland (injured Feb 17)

S: Walters, Shaqiri, Bojan, Joselu, Crouch, Diouf, Arnautovic

With long-term injuries to Afellay and Ireland unlikely they will be named in the 25 man squad that lasts until January plus Teixiera will surely be moved on/left out. Possible new signings look set tom include a striker – Berahino is first choice target for the club – and possibly defensive cover for Shawcross. New signing Sobhi is under-21 so doesn’t count in the 25 man squad.

Peter Crouch has been linked with a move away again, this time with Swansea according to the Sun.

Rotherham United is now home to two former Stoke players, Danny Collins and Lewis Buxton. Meanwhile ‘The Beast’ aka Jon parkin has signed a one year deal with league Two side Newport County after leaving Forest Green Rovers.

Danny Pugh has a job on his hands after signing for Blackpool, a club beset by off the field problems. Pugh signed a one year deal after leaving Bury. Peter Odemwingie is still on trial with Hull City despite the departure of manager Steve Bruce last week. Hopefully he can get a contract there as be good to see him play in the Premier League still.


Marko Arnautovic has signed a new four-year contract

Posted in Football, Stoke City FC, The Premiership with tags , on July 27, 2016 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

Marko Arnautovic has signed a new four-year contract with Stoke City. It has been a waiting game for this and he had been linked with a possible move to Everton. Great news and a real commitment from both player and the club.


Football league trophy draw

Posted in Football, football transfers, Stoke City FC, The Premiership with tags , , , , on July 27, 2016 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

Stoke have been drawn in northern group C with Bradford, Morecambe and Bury as part of the revamped Football league Trophy. From this season the League 1 and 2 clubs are joined by leading Academies from the Premiership and Championship, which includes Stoke. We will field an under 23’s team and have won this trophy back in 1992 and 2000.

Originally, 15 Premier League teams, along with Newcastle in the Championship, were invited to include Academy sides in the competition. However Arsenal, Liverpool, Man City, Man Utd, Newcastle and Tottenham have rejected the offers and been replaced by Blackburn, Brighton, Derby, Norwich, Reading and Wolves.

The first round will involve 16 groups of four teams organised on a regional basis, with each group including at least one club from each of League One and League Two. Teams will play each other once, either at home or away, with a penalty shoot-out in the event of a draw. The final will be at Wembley Stadium on Sunday April 2.

Choulay/Moha was involved in QPR’s friendly with Burton Albion last night and was listed as a trialist with a view to a possible loan move to QPR. Stoke signed him from Barcelona last summer although he has not made a first team appearance to date.

Julien N’Goy (who earned rave reviews for his performance against Preston at the weekend), Ollie Shenton , goalkeeper Daniel Gyollai, Joel Taylor, Eddy Lecygne and George Waring have all travelled with the first team squad to Orlando.

Walk for Parkinson’s UK

Posted in News, Parkinsons disease, Fundraising, Parkinson's UK with tags , , , on July 26, 2016 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

I am doing the Walk for Parkinson’s at Leeds Castle on September 11th in memory of my dad.

My dad was diagnosed with Parkinson’s back in 2007. He never complained about having the disease despite being in pain and as the years progressed it affected his daily life more. Parkinson’s UK do invaluable research and provide support for both people with Parkinson’s and their families. Please do donate if you can and any help in plugging my fundraising would be much appreciated. Thank you so much.

JustGiving sends your donation straight to Parkinson’s UK and automatically reclaims Gift Aid if you are a UK taxpayer, so your donation is worth even more.

Allen and Sobhi sign for Stoke

Posted in Football, football transfers, Stoke City FC, The Premiership, Transfer rumours with tags , , , , , on July 26, 2016 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

Stoke City have made a double signing with Welsh international  Joe Allen joining from Liverpool on a five year deal and Egyptian international Ramadan Sobhi joining after his work permit was approved.

Allen said to the official website “I was really excited as soon as I heard of the Club’s interest and it wasn’t a difficult decision for me to make. I am incredibly excited about my future here at Stoke City.”

Two great signings for the club and with a couple of promising youngsters coming through the ranks a good base for the upcoming new season.

Marko Arnautovic has been linked with Everton, however it appears he may be on the verge of signing a new contract with us. Like N’Zonzi he uses a family member, in this case his brother, which may slow things down a little.

Joe Allen set to join the Potters?

Posted in Football, football transfers, Stoke City FC, The Premiership, Transfer rumours with tags , , , , on July 21, 2016 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

Despite Mark Hughes hinting in a recent interview this week could be quiet on the transfer front it appears we have had a fee agreed with Liverpool for Welsh international Joe Allen. Worth keeping an eye on John Percy’s Twitter as he often gets Stoke transfer news spot on. Great signing if we get him.

Still no update on the possible signing of West Brom’s Saido Berahino and whether a fee has been agreed.

Meanwhile former goalkeeper Asmir Begovic, who only left Stoke last summer, is set to leave Chelsea and possibly join Everton.

The Big Collection – British Heart Foundation and Diabetes UK

Posted in Diabetes, News with tags , , , , , on July 20, 2016 by The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

The Big Collection is back – 16 – 17 September. Register to make sure you’re involved!

We recently let you know that the Big Collection is back and we are aiming to raise more than ever for our ground-breaking partnership with the British Heart Foundation and Tesco.

We need amazing volunteers like you to join us on Friday 16 and Saturday 17 September.

Last year our volunteers raised over £200,000 and we would love you to be involved to help us raise an incredible £355,000 this year.
Half of the money raised will be split equally between the two charities to fund vital research and ongoing work. The other half of the money will fund National Charity Partnership initiatives to help people take steps towards being a little healthier.
Whether you sign up to be a Team Leader who recruits and supports volunteers over the two days, or a Volunteer who dedicates 2 (or more) hours to bucket collecting, please register today.
Registering is simple: just find your nearest store, enter your details and let us know if you’d like to be a Team Leader or Volunteer.

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,326 other followers